Home  »  Articles   »   Small-Scale Fishing Co-operatives Registered

Small-Scale Fishing Co-operatives Registered

July 22, 2020

Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries

The environment, forestry and fisheries department is registering additional small-scale fishing co-operatives in the Western Cape.

In a statement, the department confirmed that, once these are registered, all Western Cape co-operatives will be allocated 15-year fishing rights.

The basket will include West Coast Rock Lobster, line fish, Oysters, Mussels, Seaweed, net fish and hake handline.

Since the approval of the Small-Scale Fishing Regulations to support fishing communities in 2016, approximately 10 500 small-scale fishers in the four coastal provinces of Northern Cape, Western Cape, Eastern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal have been identified, registered, verified and declared.

Small-scale fishing co-operatives have also been registered in the Northern Cape, Eastern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal and granted 15-year fishing rights for a basket of species to either sell or for own use.

The department also pointed out that 2 965 interim relief fishers in the Western Cape continue to have access to fish West Coast Rock Lobster, line fish, net fish, white mussel and bait species.

Training and mentorships to co-operatives will be offered over the next three years in partnership with the small business development department and organisations such as WWF which assists small-scale fishing communities in the Kogelberg of the Western Cape.