Home  »  Articles   »   President Ramaphosa Announces New Cabinet

President Ramaphosa Announces New Cabinet

May 30, 2019

The Presidency

30 May 2019

The number of cabinet ministers has been reduced from 36 to 28.

President Ramaphosa announced this in a statement following the appointment of the new cabinet yesterday.

According to the president, a number of portfolios have been combined to “promote greater coherence, better coordination and improved efficiency”.

Changes include:

• Trade and Industry combined with Economic Development;
• Higher Education and Training combined with Science and Technology;
• Environmental Affairs combined with Forestry and Fisheries;
• Agriculture combined with Land Reform and Rural Development;
• Mineral Resources combined with Energy;
• Human Settlements combined with Water and Sanitation; and
• Sports and Recreation combined with Arts and Culture.

The president also announced that responsibility for infrastructure has been added to the public works portfolio and responsibility for employment to the labour portfolio.

The list of ministers and deputy ministers was also provided.

Notable appointments include David Mabuza as deputy president, Thoko Didiza as minister of agriculture, land reform and rural development, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma as minister of cooperative governance and traditional affairs, Barbara Creecy as minister of environment, forestry and fisheries, Thulas Nxesi as minister of employment and labour, Tito Mboweni as minister of finance, Ronald Lamola as minister of justice and correctional services, Gwede Mantashe as minister of mineral resources and energy, Pravin Gordhan as minister of public enterprises and Ebrahim Patel as minister of trade and industry.

The president emphasized that, for the first time, half of all ministers are women.