Home  »  Articles   »   National Security Council Set Up

National Security Council Set Up

March 12, 2020

The Presidency

The National Security Council (NSC) has been set up.

The presidency published Proclamation 13 in Government Gazette 43083.

Cabinet approved the re-establishment of the Council in December 2019.

At the time, cabinet declared that the Council will “streamline the coordination of all the security related work of the country”.

The Council will be responsible for the approval of the National Security Strategy, the National Intelligence priorities of the country and National Intelligence Estimates.

Other responsibilities include coordinating the work of the security services, law enforcement agencies and relevant organs of state to ensure national security and receiving coordinated, integrated intelligence assessments from the national security structures of South Africa.

The council will be chaired by the president in his capacity as the commander-in-chief of the armed and security forces.

The other members of the council are deputy president Mabuza; state security minister Ayanda Dlodlo; defence and military veterans minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula; home affairs minister Aaron Motsoaledi; justice and correctional services minister Ronald Lamola; police minister Bheki Cele; finance minister Tito Mboweni; international relations and cooperation minister Naledi Pandor and cooperative governance and traditional affairs minister Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma.

The NSC will be supported by the South African National Security Secretariat.

The secretariat will carry out coordinating and administrative support functions.