Home  »  Articles   »   National Planning Commission Extended

National Planning Commission Extended

September 1, 2020

The Presidency

The term of office of members of the National Planning Commission has been extended.

The presidency announced the extension in Government Gazette 43666.

The extension applies for six months with effect from 9 September 2020.

The Commission was set up in 2010 tasked with producing a national development plan and development vision statement for South Africa.

The members provide expertise in many fields including finance, industry, telecommunications, biotechnology, water engineering, rural development, governance, energy, education, health, food security and climate change.

Meanwhile, in Notice 941, the presidency published the salaries and allowances of the Chairperson and Councillors of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa.

The Chairperson receives total remuneration of R1 880 736 with Councillors being paid R1 486 878 with effect from 1 April 2019.

In Notice 942, the salaries and allowances of the members of the Electoral Commission are set down.

The Chairperson’s total salary stands at R2 426 036 while Commissioners receive R2 112 202 with effect from 1 April 2019.

Part-time Commissioners receive an allowance of R5 358 per day.