Home  »  Articles   »   National Nuclear Regulator Publishes Authorisation Fees

National Nuclear Regulator Publishes Authorisation Fees

August 5, 2019

Department of Energy

5 August 2019

New authorisation fees for the National Nuclear Regulator have been published in Government Gazette 42608.

The energy department published the fees in terms of section 28 of the National Nuclear Regulator Act.

The fees refer to applications for the granting of nuclear authorisation as well as annual authorisation renewal fees.

They cover the period 1 April 2019 to 31 March 2020.

The fees were originally gazetted in July 2019 but the notice failed to mention that fees payable to the regulator in respect of any application for the granting of authorization for the 2019/20 financial year are proposed at an hourly rate of R2 029 per person.

The original notice also did not contain detail on the totals for each category in the correct place.

Category 1 consisting of small users, laboratories and refurbishes will pay an authorisation fee of R62 305 for 2019/20 while category 5 comprising large operators, including major mining and mineral processing facilities, will pay R1 183 810.

Category 3 comprising fertilizers and other lesser mining and mineral processing facilities will be charged an authorization fee of R436 141 for 2019/20.