Home  »  Articles   »   Mabuza Chairs Presidential Task Team on Military Veterans

Mabuza Chairs Presidential Task Team on Military Veterans

March 10, 2021

The Presidency

The Presidential Task Team on Military Veterans recently met to receive reports from work streams set up to provide essential support to military veterans.

In a statement, the presidency indicated that the Task Team consists of the deputy president, David Mabuza, as chairperson; defence and military veterans minister, Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula; acting minister in the presidency, Khumbudzo Ntshavheni and deputy minister of military veterans, Thabang Makwetla.

According to the presidency, the work streams focus on the specific grievances raised by military veterans during the consultations held with the Task Team from November 2020.

Areas of focus include legislative review, organizational redesign of the military veterans department, socio-economic support, pensions and benefits and communication.

The deputy president declared that the Task Team on Military Veterans is ‚Äúseized with the matters that have been presented to the Task Team by their different formations in terms of their well-being as well as that of their families‚ÄĚ.

The presidency confirmed that the Task Team will be submitting memoranda through the military veterans department on the ‚Äúproposed amendment of legislation that unintentionally disadvantages some military veterans, thereby impacting on their socio-economic conditions‚ÄĚ.

Meanwhile, in Government Gazette 44229, the presidency announced, in terms of the Traditional Leadership and Governance Framework Act, the recognition of Mr Ahlangene Cyprian Sigcau as the King of AmaXhosa.