Home  »  Articles   »   List of No-Fee Schools Set Down

List of No-Fee Schools Set Down

May 7, 2019

Department of Basic Education

7 May 2019

A list of no-fee schools per province has been published.

The basic education department published notification of the list in Government Gazette 42445.

It was drawn up in terms of the South African Schools Act.

The MECs responsible for education in each province identified the schools in their respective provinces.

Meanwhile, in Notice 643, the department published amended National Norms and Standards for School Funding.

Amendments include updating the National Targets Table to include 2020 and 2021 indicative target amounts and the National Poverty Distribution Table.

The no-fee threshold for 2019 stands at R1 390 per pupil.

According to the targets table, the no fee threshold will rise to R1 466 in 2020 and R1 547 in 2021.

The no fee threshold is the level of funding per learner granted to a public school which serves as the yardstick for the determination of no fee schools. It is regarded as the minimum amount of funding necessary to provide meaningful education to learners.

Schools that receive less than the threshold from the state would be able to charge fees from parents to make up the shortfall in funding.

In terms of the National Poverty Distribution Table, the 2018 table remains the basis for national poverty targeting in 2019.

60% of public school learners nationally have been determined to be in no-fee schools.

The amendments kicked in on 1 January 2019.

In a separate matter, the South African Qualifications Authority has, in Gazette 42431, invited comment on an application to declare an Environmental Assessment Practitioner as a professional designation title.

The application was received from the Environmental Assessment Practitioners Association of South Africa.

Comment, sought in terms of the National Qualifications Act, is invited within 30 days of the date of publication.