Home  »  Articles   »   Language Policy for National Nuclear Regulator Drawn Up

Language Policy for National Nuclear Regulator Drawn Up

November 24, 2020

Department of Mineral Resources and Energy

The Official Language Policy for the National Nuclear Regulator (NNR) has been drawn up.

The mineral resources and energy department published the language policy in Government Gazette 43913.

It was drawn up in terms of the Use of Official Languages Act.

The act stipulates that national departments, national public entities and national public enterprises adopt language policies regarding their use of official languages for government purposes.

The NNR is a public entity set up in terms of Section 3 of the National Nuclear Regulator Act to “provide for the protection of persons, property and the environment against nuclear damage through the establishment of safety standards and regulatory practices”.

According to the language policy, English has been selected as one of the four official languages used by the NNR.

isiXhosa, isiZulu and Afrikaans have also been adopted as official languages “based on the preferences of the local public it serves”.