Home  »  Articles   »   Determination of Remuneration of Office-Bearers Act in Effect

Determination of Remuneration of Office-Bearers Act in Effect

April 3, 2019

The Presidency

3 April 2019

The Determination of Remuneration of Office-Bearers of Independent Constitutional Institutions Laws Amendment Act came into effect on 1 April 2019.

The proclamation was published in Government Gazette 42338.

The act was assented to in 2014.

It amended the following pieces of legislation:

• The Public Protector Act, 1994
• The Human Rights Commission Act, 1994
• The Commission on Gender Equality Act, 1996
• The Electoral Commission Act, 1996
• The Independent Commission for the Remuneration of Public Office-bearers Act, 1997
• The Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities Act, 2002
• The Public Audit Act, 2004

The act seeks to remove disparities in salaries for members of Chapter Nine Institutions.

Some of the officials to be affected by the legislation include the Public Protector, Deputy Public Protector and the Auditor-General.

The act puts a uniform procedure in place.

The salaries and other benefits to be applied will be recommended by the Independent Commission for the Remuneration of Public Office-bearers, approved by parliament and determined by the president.

They will be published in the Gazette.

Sections 8(b) and (c) are not yet in effect.

Meanwhile, in Gazette 42337, a proclamation has announced the commencement of the Public Administration Management Act except for sections 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12 and 19.

The act came into effect on 1 April 2019.

It was assented to in December 2014.

The act seeks to improve service delivery and make better use of staff resources and enhance access to government services for citizens.

Other objectives of the act include:

• to provide for the transfer and secondment of employees in the public administration;
• regulate conducting business with the State;
• provide for capacity development and training;
• provide for the establishment of the National School of Government;
• provide for the use of information and communication technology in the public administration;
• to establish the Public Administration Ethics, Integrity and Disciplinary Technical Assistance Unit; and
• establish the Office of Standards and Compliance to ensure compliance with minimum norms and standards.