Home  »  Articles   »   Covid-19 National State of Disaster Extended

Covid-19 National State of Disaster Extended

May 17, 2021

Department of Cooperative Governance

The Covid-19 national state of disaster has been extended until 15 June 2021.

The cooperative governance department announced the extension in Government Gazette 44574.

The national state of disaster to combat Covid-19 was first declared in March 2020 in terms of the Disaster Management Act.

The act stipulates that a national state of disaster lapses after three months.

However, section 27(5)(c) of the act empowers the cooperative governance and traditional affairs minister to extend the state of disaster for one month at a time.

According to the extension notice, the extension takes into account the “need to continue augmenting the existing legislation and contingency arrangements undertaken by organs of state to address the impact of the disaster”.