Home  »  Articles   »   Covid-19 National State of Disaster Ends

Covid-19 National State of Disaster Ends

April 5, 2022

Department of Cooperative Governance

The Covid-19 National State of Disaster has terminated.

The cooperative governance department announced the termination in Government Gazette 46197 in terms of the Disaster Management Act.

The National State of Disaster was declared on 15 March 2020 and was extended at one-month intervals to 15 April 2022.

According to the cooperative governance and traditional affairs minister, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, in deciding when each of the Regulations and Directions should be repealed, consideration was given to, inter alia, the “need for post-disaster recovery and rehabilitation, including the need to anticipate future disaster risk, reduce exposure, improve resilience, mitigate the effects of the disaster, create circumstances that will reduce the risks of a similar disaster and deal with the destructive and other effects of the disaster”.

The notice confirms that all Regulations and Directions made to deal with the Covid-19 pandemic are repealed with immediate effect except for:

• Regulations 67. 69 and 75;
• Directions on Social Relief of Distress Grant; and
• Directions on extension of validity period of a learner’s licence; driving licence card; licence disc; professional driving permit and registration of a motor vehicle.

The listed Regulations and Directions will remain in force for one month from the date of publication whereupon they will automatically lapse.

Regulations and Directions on the Covid-19 Vaccine Injury No-Fault Compensation Scheme will remain in force until terminated.