Home  »  Articles   »   Communal Land Tenure Bill on Track

Communal Land Tenure Bill on Track

July 10, 2017

Department of Rural Development and Land Reform

The Draft Communal Land Tenure Bill will be published for comment in June 2016.

The rural development and land reform minister, Gugile Nkwinti, announced this during his department’s budget vote speech in parliament.

The proposed legislation aims to provide for the regulation of communal land, administration of communal land by entities chosen by communities, land rights enquiries, establishment of the Communal Land Board and the amendment and repeal of certain laws.

The plan is to table the draft bill in parliament in July 2016.

The minister also indicated that the Draft Deeds Registries Amendment Bill will be tabled in parliament in May 2016.

The draft bill was released for comment in March 2016.

The proposed legislation seeks to put electronic deeds registration processes in place and speed up deeds registration.

The electronic processing of deeds registration will allow for large volumes of deeds to be processed in line with government’s land reform initiatives.

The Draft Regulation of Agricultural Land Holdings Bill will be published for comment in May 2016 and is also likely to be tabled in parliament in June 2016.

The draft bill seeks to, inter alia, provide for the setting up the land commission, the disclosure by land owners of public and private agricultural land of their nationality, race and gender as well as the size and use of the land, the prohibition on the acquisition of and regulation of lease and disposal of agricultural land by foreign persons and the determination of ceilings in respect of agricultural land.

The minister also declared that the Policy on Exceptions to the 1913 Cut-off Date to Accommodate the Khoi and San People, Access to Heritage Sites and Historic Land Marks continues to be refined.

The department was also in the “process of establishing a multi-disciplinary, multi-cultural research team that will identify heritage sites and all historical landmarks for all of South Africa’s indigenous peoples that should be considered in the policy”.