Home  »  Articles   »   24 New Sheriffs Appointed

24 New Sheriffs Appointed

May 27, 2019

Department of Justice and Constitutional Development

27 May 2019

24 new sheriffs have been appointed to fill vacant offices countrywide.

In a statement, the justice and constitutional development department declared that significant progress in the transformation of the sheriffs’ profession continued to be made.

According to the department, the appointments, undertaken by the deputy minister of justice and constitutional development, John Jeffery, followed an “open process whereby the posts were advertised and successful applicants were shortlisted and interviewed by an Advisory Committee which was established in each of the nine provinces”.

Of the newly appointed sheriffs, 18 are African, 2 are White, 2 are Coloured and 2 are Indian.

Ten are men and 14 are women.

The department pointed out that 10 vacant offices could not be filled due to the lack of applications or the inability of Advisory Committees to recommend fit and proper applicants.

Most new appointments will take effect from 1 August 2019.

The department highlighted the importance of sheriffs performing their duties in a professional manner and continuing to provide a reliable and effective service to the public, the legal profession and other role players in the justice system.

The deputy minister emphasized that the department will “continue to support and strengthen the sheriffs’ profession in order to ensure that justice is accessible to all”.

The names and locations of the new sheriffs can be viewed at: http://www.justice.gov.za/m_statements/2019/20190524-Sheriffs_May2019_dm.html.