Home  »  Articles   »   2019 Division of Revenue Act Signed

2019 Division of Revenue Act Signed

May 3, 2019

The Presidency

3 May 2019

The Division of Revenue Bill of 2019 has been signed into law.

Parliament passed the bill in March and sent it to president Ramaphosa for assent.

The bill was tabled in parliament on Budget Day 2019 in February.

The Division of Revenue Act seeks to:

• provide for the equitable division of revenue raised nationally among the national, provincial and local spheres of government for the 2019/20 financial year, the determination of each province’s equitable share and allocations to provinces, local government and municipalities from national government’s equitable share and the responsibilities of all three spheres pursuant to such division and allocations; and
• provide for matters connected therewith.

The act, published in Government Gazette 42439, came into effect on the date of publication.